Plains Zebra Equus quagga (formerly Equus burchellii)

Plains Zebra
Chapmans Zebra
There are three species of Zebra - Plains, Mountain and Grevy's - all are black (or dark brown) and white striped small horses native to Africa, but the basic stripe pattern and other features vary.
Plains Zebra
Plains Zebra - shadow-striped
African Art African Art
The most common is the Plains Zebra shown here, which has several subspecies. The most common Plains subspecies are Chapman's Zebra above and Grant's.
Chapman's shadow stripes Shadow stripes
Plains Zebra - no shadow-stripes No shadow stripes
Plains Zebra
Chapman's or the southern Plains Zebra (also called Damara Zebra) from southern Africa can have plain white stripes between the black or, within the same herds, can have shadow light brown/grey stripes on the rump as shown above centre, said to be the only subspecies to have shadow stripes. It also has light, partial striping on its lower legs, though individuals differ. Some subspecies (Burchell's) have no stripes on their lower legs and some (Grant's/Selous'/Crawshay's from East and southeast Africa) continue full stripes down to the hooves.
Chapman's Plains Zebra
Chapman's Plains Zebra
Plains Zebras
A particularly dark version of Chapman's Plains Zebra. Zebras can run at some 40 mph.
Grant's Zebra
Mainless Zebra
Zebra heads
Grant's subspecies, above left, from East Africa, the smallest subspecies, has fully-striped lower legs to the hooves. The northern subspecies generally do not have shadow stripes. The Maneless subspecies, above centre, has heavily-striped legs; a separate page (link below) is given to this subspecies. Each individual zebra has a different facial pattern and body stripes, like our fingerprints.